How Long Does a DWI Stay on Your Record in Missouri?

Have you previously received a DWI conviction in Missouri? If so, you may know a conviction can impact everything from employment opportunities to auto insurance rates.

Perhaps you’re wondering how long a DWI stays on your record in Missouri. Depending on the circumstances, you could potentially have your DWI expunged after a decade.

Expunging a DWI in Missouri: What You Need to Know

A first DWI stays on your record for at least 10 years in Missouri. Under Missouri law, after 10 years, you can expunge a DWI conviction from your record if you meet the following conditions:

  • You were previously convicted of or pled guilty to a first DWI (or a similar intoxication-related traffic or boating offense) that qualifies as a misdemeanor or county/city ordinance violation.
  • You were not convicted of a crime involving operating a commercial vehicle while under the influence of alcohol.
  • Ten years have passed since your conviction or guilty plea. During these 10 years, you were not convicted of nor did you plead guilty to any intoxication-related traffic or boating offense.

If the above all apply, you may request a DWI expungement in Missouri through the court that handled your previous conviction.

What Happens When You Apply for DWI Expungement in Missouri?

The specific process for expunging a DWI in Missouri may vary to some degree from one court to another. Generally, though, the court may arrange a hearing upon receiving your formal request for expungement.

The court may grant an expungement when the following apply:

  • You haven’t been convicted of any additional intoxication-related traffic or boating offenses since your previous conviction.
  • You haven’t had any subsequent contacts with law enforcement for alcohol-related reasons under Missouri law 302.525.
  • At the time of applying for expungement, you have no other pending cases or actions involving alcohol-related traffic offenses, alcohol-related boating offenses, or other alcohol-related offenses.

It is important to note that expungement isn’t an automatic process. If you don’t apply for expungement, a DWI will remain on your record in Missouri, even after 10 years.

What Does DWI Expungement Mean in Missouri?

Expunging your DWI conviction or guilty plea in Missouri renders the files related to your conviction confidential. If someone wants to learn whether you have a previous DWI conviction, they will have to receive a court order. To get a court order, they’ll have to show good cause. Most private parties (such as potential employers or landlords) may be unable to show such cause, meaning they won’t have access to your records.

Expungement also means you can legally state you have not been convicted of a DWI or crime in Missouri if the expunged conviction is your only conviction. However, the law only allows for one expungement. If you are convicted or plead guilty to a subsequent DWI in the future, you cannot have that one expunged.

Contact a Missouri DWI Expungement Lawyer

Missouri DWI lawyer can play an essential role in your case after a DWI arrest. They may also help you navigate the process of applying for an expungement.

The O’Rourke Law Firm is proud to serve clients in St. Charles County, St. Louis County, and Lincoln County, and we want to help you clean up your record. Learn more about how we may help by contacting us online today.

Get The Criminal Defense
Representation You Need